A Gorgeous Day…and some sunburn!

25 09 2009

Friday, September 25 epitomized Indian Summer here in Chemainus.  I couldn’t have asked for a more perfect day – weather-wise – to work on the mural.  I worked on the mural for a couple hours after work Monday, Tuesday and Thursday, but was so tired that I didn’t have the juice to post photos or a blog entry – my apologies.

But today was a great day to work and I vowed to get new video and photos for the websites.  And I did!  Though I got an early start today, I knew I would only be able to work until 2pm, as I do volunteer work in nearby Nanaimo on Friday afternoons and was really looking forward to seeing the kids today.  Plus, it seemed like visitors from the whole wide world were stopping by to say hello and ask questions.  I talked with folks from Amsterdam, Japan, Australia and various parts of Canada today.  The most common questions is, “When do you expect to be finished?”  It always requires a bit of explanation as the finish date depends on which segment we’re discussing!

I am eager to get as much accomplished on Segment 1 as I can this coming weekend, as Tuesday morning the senior’s centre is hosting the Tour de Rock Breakfast.  The event generally includes a gathering in the parking lot where Segment 1 is located, so I’d like to have as much done as I can so there is a nice backdrop for the event.

This past week saw some really nice press coverage of the mural from a story by our local paper editor, Warren Goulding, special to the Victoria Times-Colonist (Sun, Sept 20 edition, page A12) to a nice story in the Ladysmith Chronicle about our survey contest to name the little girl in Segment 1.  As mentioned in our previous blog postings, Elizabet was our big winner, so the survey contest is closed.  However, it was a popular feature so stay tuned for more opportunities to contribute your votes to various aspects of the mural as it is developed.

Also, check out our Flickr page (http://www.flickr.com/photos/mural41/) and our YouTube Channel (http://www.youtube.com/chemainusmural41) for the newest visuals on the mural’s progress.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

